Asset Publisher

angle-left null 2009-Thorbjørn Jagland is thirteenth Secretary General
Event's background
Secretaries General of the Council of Europe
01 October 2009

Thorbjørn Jagland is thirteenth Secretary General

Norway Norway

Former Norwegian Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Thorbjørn Jagland became Secretary General in 2009 after acting as President of the Norwegian Parliament from 2005. He was re-elected in June 2014 – the first Secretary General to win two terms. Mr Jagland is a member of the Norwegian Nobel Committee which awards the Nobel Peace Prize every year. Over the last 20 years, Mr Jagland has written widely on a range of issues, in particular on European and international affairs. He has published four books in Norway: My European Dream (1990), Letters (1995), Our Vulnerable World (2001) and Ten Theses on the EU and Norway (2003).